Shane's Newsletter - December 2020

Thank you

First, I would to thank the people of Whangarei who voted for me in the 2020 general election. I would especially like to thank our supporters and volunteers for their time and effort during the campaign.  

It has been an honour to serve as your local MP for the last six years and I will work hard as the list MP based in Whangarei.

While I was disappointed by the election result my commitment to you has not changed. I will persistently advocate for local improvements in the areas of the transport, law and order, and health.  Whangarei must keep up with its rapid growth and ensure the Government delivers on housing, builds the 4-lanes, supports local farmers – the backbone of our economy and implements the promised changes to mental health services.  Although as a list MP we have had to reduce our local team, the Whangarei office is rolling up its sleeves and preparing to help thousands of constituents across a range of issues over the next three years.



National’s spokesperson for Health and Children

My particular focus will be holding the Government accountable in these critical areas - whether that’s keeping our DHBs local, improving child poverty, or ensuring the government efficiently and effectively rolls out comprehensive Covid and Flu vaccinations.

Deputy Leader of The Opposition  

I am enlivened about the term of Government ahead and look forward to working with a united caucus.   “We owe it to the people of New Zealand to provide a strong and effective Opposition as we navigate the difficult economic and health issues ahead of us - and this is exactly what National will do.”

Whangarei MP Racial Harmony Award  Congratulations to the recipents of the 2020 Racial Harmony Award some of which I am highlighting here. This is an annual award created by National MP Dr Shane Reti in 2014.  The award is given to a student nominated by their high school for their contribution toward racial harmony and this year those recipients are: Kamo HS - Mya Kereopa, Tikipunga – Davontae Bristowe, Bream Bay – Taunga-Tyreec Taunga, WBHS – Peter Martin (NP), WGHS - Sophie Saweirs (NP)